Five questions for Ryan Tedder (BBC Newsbeat)

Standard

1. Which song by another artist do you wish you’d written?

“Hozier’s Take Me To Church.

“I was in Ireland when I first heard it and from that moment I knew it embodied everything I love about music.

“From his vocal, to how organic it is live, to the lyric, it’s so moody. It’s dark but beautiful.

“I have a mental book of songwriting and it checks most of my boxes for what I think is a brilliant song. It’s so evocative.”

2. What is something – apart from your phone or wallet – that has to be in your vicinity at all times?

“Well apart from my wedding ring, it’s go to be the cross necklace I wear. I’m petrified of losing it.

“I got it in Piccadilly in London. It’s from the 1800s and is an Egyptian Coptic cross, made out of metal from the coins that were used during the Austro-Hungarian empire.

“It’s a very specific, rare piece and I’m scared I’m going to lose it.”

3. Most surreal fan moment?

“I was in the middle of nowhere in New Zealand with my wife. We could not be further from anywhere.

“It wasn’t even the popular wine region of the country and it was just after OneRepublic’s first album came out. We weren’t really that big.

“I was standing buying wine and these two girls came in who were backpacking. They’re having a conversation between themselves about OneRepublic and they turn and see me.

“It would be like running into someone in Narnia and thinking ‘how are you possibly here right now?’ I was weirded out and didn’t think it was happening. Neither did they.”

4. What was the first gig you ever played… And how many people were there?

“The first gig we played had 15 people. It was at the Bungalow club in Los Angeles off Melrose.

“It was a producer’s 30th birthday party.”

5. What did you do on your last day off?

“My last true day off was probably when I was in Hawaii.

“It was an anniversary trip with my wife at the end of July. I think August 1 is technically my last day off because I’ve been finishing this new album ever since.

“However, the album is now done so when I get home I WILL take some days off.”

